On March 30th, 2019 McKinley County Democrats held an election to elect new officers. More information can be found here.

Elected as new Chair was Mary Ann Armijo and her Vice Chair is Michael Daly.

A message from our outgoing Chair:

Welcome to the official website of the Democratic Party of McKinley County.

We hope you use our online community to connect with your McKinley County Democratic Party!

Without question, we are at a defining moment in our nation’s history. Electing Democrats throughout the state and our community gives us the power and ability to enact positive change. Together, we can focus on getting our communities back on track and bringing forth the ultimate Democratic principal: that every American, regardless of background, can improve their lives and the lives of others through hard work and service to their community. We hope you join us in this endeavor. – Cas Hoefman

About Us
The Democratic Party of New Mexico State requires every county to have a County Party.  The County Party of McKinley County is also referred to as the Democratic Party McKinley County (DPMC). The DPMC works in concert with the  Democratic Party of New Mexico. The elected body currently consists of ten State Central Committee members: local Democrats committed to supporting Democratic ideals, issues, and candidates on local, state, and national levels. Any registered Democrat in New Mexico is automatically a member of their County Democratic Party.

Our newly elected 2017 SCC Members seek to include Party participation throughout the County. Going forward, each Central Committee member will be elected for a two year term by the voters in each of the six wards in McKinley County. All McKinley County registered Democrats are eligible to run for these seats and may apply prior to each election.

Our Mission:
Our mission is as follows; to:

    • Identify, encourage and support Democrats who choose to run for public office in McKinley County;
    • Conduct Democratic voter registration drives;
    • Increase voter turnout at the polls; and
  • Sponsor activities designed to educate and inform the community on current political issues;

The DPMC also charters local Democratic Clubs that organize educational and social events to increase interest and involvement in Democratic issues.

We encourage the organization of Precincts and Wards to further the Democratic Cause and anyone that is interested in becoming part of the County Central Committee at the Precinct or Ward level can reach out to get more information using our Contact Us Page.

Our People:
We strive for even representation and have proposed that there will be at least twelve elected SCC members representing the following Wards:

Ward 1: Two (2) member seats
Ward 2: Two (2) member seats
Ward 3: Two (2) member seats
Ward 4: Two (2) member seats
Ward 5: Two (2) member seats
Ward 6: Two (2) member seats

In the current, 2017-2019 term, there are ten elected members representing Wards 1 through 6.

For the 2019-2021 term McKinley County has been allocated 13 SCC Members and the state has mandated that 1 has to be from CD2 with the remaining 11 from CD3.

The State of New Mexico sets the number of official SCC Members for McKinley County based voter turnout. When they adjust our membership numbers, we will adjust the number of seats proportionally based on the number of votes cast in each ward.

Members appoint alternates (proxies) to cast their vote if the member is not present. In the event that a vacancy occurs between elections, notices of the vacancy are made public (including on this website) and registered Democrats who reside in that Supervisorial ward may apply for the vacant seat.

Our Current SCC members are:

  • Cas Hoefman, Chair
  • Vacant, Vice Chair
  • Deana Crask-Stone, Secretary
  • Alray Nelson
  • Amit Pande, Treasurer
  • Kimberly Wahpepah
  • Albert Shirley
  • Arden Kucate
  • Jo Ann Benenati
  • Vacant

Open Positions:

  • Ward Chairs and Vice Chairs for Ward 1-6
  • Precinct Chairs and Vice Chairs for Precinct 1-62
  • 2 SCC Member,  Vice Chair

If you are interested in any of these positions contact Cas Hoefman at (312) 607-0740 or by e-mail at cashoefman@mckinleydemocrats.org

Our Rules:
The DPMC has adopted the DPNM State rules, you can download or view a copy of our rules here.